I somehow ended up in New York Times Square’s tallest billboard

…and other things I say when I meet someone for the first time

Carl Kho
Bootcamp

--

October 10 2023

Return to Portfolio / Read Case Studies

The first few words that came out of my dad’s mouth when I received my acceptance letter for an American university (as someone living on a small island in the Philippines) were,

“Sorry — but we can’t afford this.”

So I did what anyone in that situation would do: I designed and built a website looking for sponsorships.

The accompanying video for my website launch.

Because of this, the mayor of my city sponsored a portion of my tuition!

Fancy paperwork 👀

and then I usually go:

Helloooo, my name is Carl 🇵🇭, a sophomore at Minerva University.

I study in one country per semester.

I have spent a year in San Francisco 🇺🇸 and four months in Seoul 🇰🇷.

I am currently in Germany 🇩🇪 for the winter. You’ll then see me in Argentina 🇦🇷 and India 🇮🇳 for my third year. I’ll finally top it off with Taiwan 🇹🇼 and London 🇬🇧 for the last.

I’ll then be returning to San Francisco for a month to graduate.

The reason? Minerva’s global rotation program.

My first Minerva feast in SF!

I’m a Computer Science Major and a Neuroscience Minor working towards non-invasive Semantic Decoding and/or Agriculture Robotics.

How were your assignments graded?

I have a long (informal) history with design. I started with graphic design because back in the Philippines, essays were graded on:

  1. The content (50%)
  2. The border design (50%)

I sucked with arts and crafts, so I turned to Canva (2016).

Opportunities opened up and snowballed from there (in chronological order):

  1. Brand designer (freelance [old portfolio site] — 99d)
  2. Design for Creative Social Media Marketing (volunteer)
  3. ThePremierePro-AfterEffects guy (hackathons era)

These led me to my first UI/UX Internship at Symph! Thanks to the team’s trust and culture, I eventually became a full-time Creative Front-End Developer pioneering Webflow and no-code solutions.

No Coping Mechanisms were Harmed in the Making

Before I talk about getting to time square, let’s do a rewind.

Before Minerva, I was already a full-time designer in high school working at an established startup foundry, where I helped the top businesses in the Philippines.

Design Portfolio Plug — carlkho.com

However, I’ve always wanted to pursue research and development.

In my final year of high school, I sought international education. I took the IELTS English proficiency test and the SAT. The Philippines didn’t have free access to it, so I had to spend around $600 for both tests.

I was about to be accepted at the University of British Columbia. I even got into their four-year, fully-funded undergrad scholarship!

Well, partially. I was on the waitlist.

That felt like a stab to my heart. I felt like a failure.

So my coping mechanism was to do something anyone would do: apply to every available international scholarship.

However, the Philippines did not have such a database, so, again, I did what anyone would do: I created and launched an initiative with a group of nine friends called Padayun Ko (“I Will Continue” in my native language).

Bonus: This initiative went on to be integrated into my school. Handled by the Student Government

Because of that, I got to be in talks with other people in the education sector, and good karma returned to me when I heard about Minerva, its pedagogy, and the financial aid that comes with it.

Remember my for-sponsorship website?

It was made in Webflow! Webflow was the reason for my appearance in New York Times Square.

During my time in SF, I got the chance to:

  1. Compete in creating a website in under 10 minutes
  2. Join Webflow Conf 2022 as a scholar, and
  3. Eventually, get into an excruciatingly intense dad joke contest with Vlad and McGuire (photos at the end).
Webflow Speed Build 2022 Contestants

In the following summer, Webflow contacted me during my summer internship in Boston* for a personal branding opportunity (much love to Veronica).

Turns out it was for their 10th year anniversary + biiiig rebrand (I likey).

Long story short: I was treated like a king as soon as I flew into San Francisco (again) and I can now call myself a model. 😎

TIL: I have a butt chin. Thanks to the hardworking crew!

Congratulations, we can now skip the formalities when we talk.

If you’re a recruiter — pretend I wrote this article professionally.

Feel free to say hi to me on LinkedIn.

Return to Portfolio / Next Case Study

Shoutout to Vitoria for giving me the push to write this over acai 🫐

Unsolicited Gallery

“Bold Moments” at Webflow HQ
“Do you dive?”
Minervans started calling me Figma boy ¯_(ツ)_/¯

Return to Portfolio / Next Case Study

--

--

Designed my way to seven countries. Sophmore at Minerva University (2026). Open to product design roles (summer internships). https://www.carlkho.com/